Menu

books about animals

Alice

I'm sure this has been asked and answered before but a couple of quick searches didn't give me anything useful. 

I'm looking for books for my 9 year old. He is a good reader but somewhat of a picky reader. He will go through phases where he finds a book he really loves and then won't get interested in anything for awhile. He starts a lot of books but doesn't finish them. I'm not very good at grade levels and reading but he can read things like Harry Potter or Narnia with no trouble. It's more of an interest issue than ability issue. 

He really loves books with animals. (His favorite character in HP is Hagrid because Hagrid loves magical creatures if that gives you an idea of what he is like.) However, he is fairly sensitive and doesn't like it when the animals die or are hurt. Even if the story is about someone helping animals, he will have trouble reading about the part where whatever happened to cause them to need help. He mostly likes stories where the main characters are realistic animals but the story isn't totally realistic. So not something like Paddington or Stuart Little but also not Call of the Wild or The Black Stallion. 

He recently read two newish books, Malcolm at Midnight and Malcolm Under the Stars and really loved them. They are about a classroom pet rat who joins a secret society of other classroom pets and solves mysteries at a school.  I'm looking for  more books like those. 

Watership Down is brilliant, but some parts might be too sad or disturbing for him.

I would think that's way too disturbing (in the same vein of The Call of the Wild).

Alice, I'm like your ds. I generally don't read animal books of any kind for the same reasons. (My ds is also like this. Dd, otoh, is fine w/ books like that.) I couldn't get through Watership Down even as an adult.

Edited by Stacia
  • Like 1