Menu

I need to know the nitty gritty on Math Mammoth vs Singapore for 2nd grade

sunshineslp

My kids do Right Start now.  We are finishing up B and I want to switch to another curriculum.  I like both MM and SM but for different reasons.  My son does not love the visual look of MM and usually gets very overwhelmed.  I could maybe help by covering some problems, etc, if I went with that curriculum. 

So please tell me your honest opinions on either for a big family to use (I need ease of use, ease of teaching, strong but appropriate even for not extremely MATHY kids or parents).  I know both can be difficult to use for different reasons.  What is your take on them? 

I've heard SM makes conceptual leaps where MM maybe doesnt.

But then I've heard MM can sometimes be too brief in the explanation and more is needed. 

I have no experience with either RightStart or Singapore, but we used MM and loved it. What do you want to know?

Math Mammoth is very conceptual and thorough. I used an older version of it, not sure which. Also, I don't think that two kids count as a "big" family.

I found it best to combine my sons in skill-based work like math and reading as they are close in age and similar in abilities. 

Math Mammoth is an elementary program, so I'm so sure about what types of conceptual leaps it could take.

2nd grade has a lot of place value and base-10 work, its mostly addition and subtraction up to 3 or 4 places, fluency with math facts and some basic geometry, maybe measurement. Its been a while.

The layout might have been a slight problem, but you could try using a small post-its to cover up some problems, folding the page and splitting the worksheet between lesson time and independent work, copy out some problems on a separate sheet so that he isn't as overwhelmed or switch into "mean-mom" mode and make the kid do all of the problems anyway. Your choice.