Menu

What's with the ads?

Arctic Mama

Do I need a Clarisonic?

So I've been hemming and hawing off and on for ten years over this. Every once in awhile I see a deal for a Clarisonic or Phillips or other skin cleansing brushes. Who loves theirs? Who was indifferent?

I have acne prone, thin skin that can become sensitive if I over exfoliate, if that makes a difference.

My daughter loves it. But I borrowed it, and a the first time I used it it caused broken capillaries in the cheekbone area. The are the kind of broken capillaries that won't heal and would need to be removed by a dermatologist.

This was with the sensitive head and very gentle use. I'm so glad I stopped and looked closely before moving to another spot.

I have one and like it, but I tend to just reach for my regular, old wash cloth more often than not. I did recently get a great deal on the brush heads via Groupon, though.

• Like 2

My daughter loves it. But I borrowed it, and a the first time I used it it caused broken capillaries in the cheekbone area. The are the kind of broken capillaries that won't heal and would need to be removed by a dermatologist.

This was with the sensitive head and very gentle use. I'm so glad I stopped and looked closely before moving to another spot.

Broken capillaries were my concern. I wasn't sure how prevalent those were and the makeup alley reviews were mixed, but I struggle with dry patches and little comedones so I'd like to fix those if this will help.

My Mom gave me one (Mia) a few years ago and I love it.  I don't wear much make-up though so I think I'd love it even more if I did.

Prior, I had an Olay brush which was very nice as well.  Is the Clarisonic worth the extra $$? For me, probably not.  If I was back working and wearing a full face of make-up each day, definitely.  

• Like 1