Menu

I own an older version of Jurgenson Geometry. I keep reading about others using a variety of online programs. Most are unaffordable for us, such as WHA. However, we could pay for Duke Tip. I am mostly worried about paying for it and my child hating it. But since everyone is using an outside program and this is my oldest child and I have several younger children, I don't have a ton of time to devote to teaching this. Although I am competent at teaching geometry. I used to be a secondary education math teacher and the last year I taught was maybe five years ago.  Time is simply a big issue here. Also, he wants to be an engineer or software developer eventually. He is not good with frustration. 

I had thought we might try out Jurgensen's Geometry and if we do not like it, switch to something else. I had kind of wondered by no one suggests Math U See for geometry. Should I just go forward and purchase the Duke Tip program? We already started the geometry this week. Of course no problems yet. 

Also, I would not mind reviews of other programs if you have something else you prefer or that has worked for you.

Edited to add: Saxon. Saxon Geometry was the other one I saw. But I already picked up from the used book store (called Half Priced Books) Forester's Algebra and the second Forester's Algebra book. 

Edited to add: Duke Tip dropped their program for geometry.

Did they? Wow. I got it (the Duke TIP geometry stuff) this spring to use this fall. DD just started it this week, so we are barely going on it.

There was someone who said (in an old thread) that the DVD teacher lecture (one per chapter) was pretty boring. That is true as I watched the first chapter with DD.

However, you only have to do one of those lectures per chapter, so it isn't like you can't handle it.