Menu

Dk. brown hair dye safety? I think I need to go gray!

Has anyone looked into this? I have issues with autoimmune diseases - myasthenia gravis in my 20's, and now multiple sclerosis. I also have the lupus anticoagulant that caused a lot of miscarriages. My son has type 1 diabetes. SO, needless to say, I'm looking into all reasons why I'm having these problems.

There is a new book out about the autoimmune "epidemic" that has a forward written by a physician at Johns Hopkins that I respect. Most researchers agree that there is a combo of genetic and environmental causes. The book implicates chemicals including hair dye- particularly dk. hair dye. A causal relationship with lupus in particular.

I have been coloring my hair dk brown for 15 years! I'm 39 and my roots are 80% gray. My hair is 2 inches below my shoulders. It will be hard to go gray. I'm using a cane, and I'm overweight :( But, for the sake of my health I think I have to! I have to leave the dye on for 1hr bc my grays are so resistant to color - and I touch up every 3 weeks. Not good!!

Help! Should I do this? Has anyone else done this? Maybe you can show me some pics of pretty gray haired 40 year old moms? :)

that dark dye is worse for the body than lighter dyes. It caught my eye because I'm a brunette who dyes her straggly grays around the temple and brow area every couple of weeks. I leave it in for only twenty minutes and apply it with a toothbrush to avoid as much contact as possible with the scalp.

Could that be why so many brunettes opt for blonde highlights.:confused:

Bother....

Well I used henna this summer on my hair. One issue is the time needed to do the dying. I applied it in June, August and October. Now I have grey roots Well more than just roots. I woke up this morning and realized that I had enough time to dye my hair today. Only problem is that you need to prepare the henna ahead of time---like last night. Here is where I got my henna. http://www.hennaforhair.com/