Menu

Help with Algebra 1 options/decisions please

We have used Horizons Math through pre-Algebra. It has been a pretty good fit for this child.

I am wanting to make a change for Algebra 1 on through the higher levels of math, but just struggling with what to choose.

I have been leaning towards Saxon for a variety of reasons, however I am concerned it may not be the best fit for this child. Math has always come naturally for this child.

We need something rigorous & faster paced with clear conscience lessons, but with sufficient practice of new materials. Online or DVD lessons available would be an added bonus should we need them.

I find myself wondering if we might want to change from a spiral approach to a mastery approach??

Although, I have no real experience with a mastery approach so that may not be the wisest choice.

Thank you for listening to my rambling. If you have any advice, wisdom, or recommendations for me I would greatly appreciate them!

Thanks you TaraTheLiberator and Vanurseprac for the recommendation of Foerster's Algebra & Math Without Borders.

Can you please tell me more about Foerster's Algebra?

Pros & cons?

What do you like about it?

Is it mastery or spiral?

Vanurseprac

Ideally I am hoping to choose an Algebra 1 curriculum that also offers Geometry, Algebra 2, etc.......

Guess I am wanting the continuity that using one publishers curriculum for all the levels of higher math courses could offer.

We went from Horizons 1-6 (+ Singapore K-7A with my boys) to the Dolciani sequence. It was a seamless transition. Part of the reason we went this route is that I found a number of top private, college-prep high schools were using it, so I knew it would be a solid program.

Pre-Algebra: An Accelerated Course

Algebra I

Geometry

Algebra II/Trigonometry

Advanced Math (pre-calc) This one is authored by Brown, one of the co-authors of the others