Menu

Audible Books Worth Getting

Can we start a list of not just any book on tape, but specifically, paid Audible.com account books worth getting each month for a elementary age audience.  

In other words, I think I've been throwing my money away with the Audible account I've been paying for the past two years. I almost never get any titles because I'm paralyzed by the thought of paying for a title that is already available for free as many classics are, or cancelling my account and losing all the book credits I have accumulated! I also constantly throw in the paralysis of --I can't get audible books that would be better experienced by my kids as a book they read themselves.

So, within that context, what books are really worth getting with your paid Audible account?

(For me, I will probably be using them a lot in the car where K'er, 3rd, and 6th grader will be listening).

• Like 1

Many classics are free but if you get the ebook of a classic with whispersync for voice ready and then get the audible book with whispersync for voice ready at a discounted rate or for a credit, then you can do immersion reading which I think is great for kids. Only certain kindles can do immersion reading.

Also, some narrators are the very best like Tim Curry narrating the Christmas Carol or Jim Weiss so to me the better narrators are very much worth it.

Audible does have Joy Hakim's US History series.

• Like 1

A lot of kids books cost less than a credit on Audible. I've found that to be true of the books I get anyway. I normally stock up during the sales.

These are probably less than a credit but these are the audiobooks that would best fit your criteria:

Paddington

Trumpet of the Swan read by E. B. White

The Thirteen Clocks

D'Aulaire's Greek Myths could be another one. I find it rather dull but my son loves it. Having it read would help with pronunciation.

• Like 1