Menu

I'm not feeling the love

gingersmom

I have been volunteering for about 8 months now at the same place. I would drop my son at school and then drive 20-45 minutes to the place ( I showed in crazy snowstorms that I had no business driving in ).

I would get there around 7:45 am. I would much rather be back at home drinking coffee, but I would get up 30 minutes early so I could shower, drop at school and go there.

Towards the end of May a new volunteer was on my shift who I was not fond of so I took myself off the schedule for the summer.

I got a rather snippy email from volunteer coordinator saying I didn't show this morning and why not. I was rather taken back by the tone of it and I haven't been scheduled in several weeks.

I emailed her back telling her they were mistaken, blah blah and she replied again with another snippy email.

I think my feelings are hurt. In fact I am sure of it.

I have another volunteer job where I am thanked every week for my help, they have had food catered for the volunteers, I have gotten two gift cards to local coffee shops. It makes me realize how much more my service is appreciated. A simple thank you means a lot.

• Like 8

Is the volunteer coordinator a volunteer also? Or is she a paid position? Some people look at voluteer positions a power and authority positions.  (We had this in a HOA in Texas.  One guy had a real problem with it and eventually got let go.) 

The Damn Yankee in me would say "What is your problem? You do realize I am a volunteer? I give up my time to help here, and I don't appreciate the tone.  Especially when I have not been on the schedule for a few weeks.  You need to check the attitude and check your schedules better.  And not treat you volunteers so poorly!"