Menu

WordPress vs. Blogger

KathyBC

I'm curious about the replies to your question. I started a blog just for family and friends, since I don't do FB. One thing that's kind of annoying with Blogger is that I don't see how to group entries by subject rather than date. I figure you can just scroll back if you want to go by date. Archiving things by subject just makes more sense to me.

• Like 1

I have been blogging for 9 years. :thud: Yep. I started my first blog in January 2006. 

Blogger is good if you want simplicity. It is bad if you like customization. 

Wordpress can be overwhelming to a newbie that is just starting out. However it is completely customizable. 

Depending on what you are going to do with your blog, you may also want to think about domain names, and hosting services. 

I started out with a blog on blogger. After my DD died, I started a new blog also on blogger. After a year or so, I merged my 2 blogs as I was referring to my first blog often. A few years after that I decided that I needed an easier blog address so I got my own URL. Then I ran out of room on blogger and did the works. My blog is now hosted that I pay for (did this for 5 years as I seem to be doing this for the long haul. It is also cheaper to do this.) and I have my own URL. I have moved from blogger to wordpress (a bit of work) and my blog has 1485 posts. My blog is my life. There is little that isn't on there that is major that has happened in the last 9 years. It is also my memory at times. I hope that one day my children will read the blog and get a sense of what life was like for us when they were little. PM me if you would like the address to see what I have done. 

Good luck and have fun! It has been a lot of fun for me over the years. 

• Like 1