Menu

If you have ever wondered if a Viking River cruise is 'all that'....

Jen in NY

The answer is, most definitely, yes. Yes it is.

I am a total travel newbie - I've always been afraid to fly and definitely afraid to travel abroad. My parents basically made these reservations for all of us (Yes, my parents just took all 5 of us to Europe for a week. I can't adequately express my gratitude in words.) and said, "You are going!" or else I never would have had the nerve. Well, we just got back from the Rhine River Getaway. Absolutely everything is taken care of. Each day there's an included excursion with a fantastic local guide. (That's the only part I would change... I wanted so much more time at each place!). There are lots of optional excursions that cost extra... but we were so busy we didn't feel like we needed to do any of them. We spent our extra time wandering around in the streets of whatever town we were in and it was wonderful! Every meal is included (with beer and wine if you are so inclined), and each one is more delicious than the last. It was all so beautiful - I don't know why I waited this long! The staff was absolutely committed to our happiness. They went way above and beyond and took care of my gluten and dairy free husband so well.... a special gourmet meal and dessert just for him every. single. time. It was way over the top luxurious.

If you have any reservations about traveling abroad, this is an absolutely painless way to go. (Except for the pain in the wallet, of course.) But I am now ready to pack my backpack, buy a pair of walking sticks, and hit the trail. Any trail. As cheap and on the fly as possible. The travel bug is powerful - and I've been bitten!

post-433-0-52039000-1434384225_thumb.gif

post-433-0-52039000-1434384225_thumb.gif

• Like 32