Menu

Need tips to improve running form

klmama

One of my dc needs to improve running form to increase speed.  The issue that I see is feet and lower legs moving out to the sides after pushing off instead of staying in line with the upper legs.  Suggestions for correcting this?  Website recommendations?  Thanks.

I'd not try to change someone's running gait unless I was a coach and/or PT. You can really get messed up trying to change your natural movements. 

That said, I think it is safe to follow general principles such as, "quick, quiet, soft . .. " etc. 

Also, I think running form develops naturally over 1000s of miles of running. So, if the runner is a new runner, they're often well served by simply running more over time (assuming they aren't getting hurt, which would prod me to a prompt visit to a good PT). Over time and many, many miles, a more efficient form generally develops. This is why runners get faster and faster by logging lots of miles. It's partially strength/stamina, but it is also efficiency of form, which evolves on its own over many, many miles.

I'd definitely seek advice from a running coach who works directly with your kid. Or maybe a PT that works in sports medicine if you can access a PT like that. (My running-injury PT was a serious triathlete, which really helped him be able to coach me into better form.)

I read that book, but never could figure out how to do what he was saying. I guess I'm just not Chi. :)

BTW, I agree with Stephanie and Binip.

I read that book, but never could figure out how to do what he was saying. I guess I'm just not Chi. :)

BTW, I agree with Stephanie and Binip.

Did you get the metronome? I did, and it was so very helpful! I found that cranking up my cadence was a key step to healthy running form.

• Like 1