Menu

Was Singapore CWP worth the time and effort?

We've always tried to do IP and CWP but we are never caught up it seems. My kids get math fairly easily, but by the time we do the Textbook and Workbook and corrections, it is long enough.

So for those who have invested the time in CWP, was it worth it for your kids? How did it pay off? Or was it not worth it?

I searched old threads and was surprised by how many people only do the text and workbook and then move on. Do people really find them that simple and unimportant? I find the CWP books challenging. And I was an engineer who loved math. We are in CWP 5 now. Some are easy, some are tough. Some are just time consuming. I'm trying to get my kids in the habit of reading the problem, labeling info, and drawing pictures or writing equations. I don't just want the answer, I want the thought process. Am I overdoing it? I keep thinking it will be good habits for higher math, but maybe I'm just out of school too long.

We definitely found it worth it. My oldest is fairly quick in Math so I chose to only use the Textbook and IP with him. He didn't need the number of problems in the Workbook. That gave us some extra time. My second son sometimes needs more practice so I use all three with him. 

We also always did the CWP one level behind what we were doing. So if they were in Singapore 4, they did CWP 3. It served as review and I also found that the challenge of the problem was easier when the concept was not also new. 

• Like 1

For my oldest, no, CWP or IP was not worth it.  Nothing but tears and frustration.  Even working a level behind.  It just made him hate word problems.  I do mean hate...  Mental block a mile high and a mile wide...  Dropped both CWP and IP around level 4 and he is grateful.  Truly grateful and blessed. ;)