Menu

Two questions about gardening. *seeds and bulbs*

helena

I'm a beginner, so these may be silly questions. :)

I'm growing lots of ajuga. If I plant bulbs (harlequin) where the ajuga will eventually spread, next year will the bulbs just push through the ground cover and grow/bloom as usual? Or will the ajuga keep it from growing? Will flower seeds grow through groundcover? Like say, echinacea seeds? 

I planted a bunch of seeds. Some are growing fine, others never popped up. Will the seeds rot and never come up? Will some start growing when they're time comes? Like later in spring or early summer? I live in So Cal fwiw. 

Hmm ... I can't answer your specific questions, and have never gardened (or even been to, LOL) in So. CA.

I would think the bulbs might be worth a try, because they tend to be pretty strong pushers.  :)  So as long as the ground cover is not super thick, they might work.

I don't think you'll have as much luck with the seeds. 

Usually, when seeds I planted don't germinate, I assume (1) a bird ate it, (2) it was a dud seed, (3) it rotted.  It's a good thing seeds are cheap!  

If you want the Echinacea mixed among the ajuga, you might try either starting the seeds indoors yourself or just buying a few echineacea plants.

• Like 1

Hmm ... I can't answer your specific questions, and have never gardened (or even been to, LOL) in So. CA.

I would think the bulbs might be worth a try, because they tend to be pretty strong pushers.  :)  So as long as the ground cover is not super thick, they might work.

I don't think you'll have as much luck with the seeds. 

Usually, when seeds I planted don't germinate, I assume (1) a bird ate it, (2) it was a dud seed, (3) it rotted.  It's a good thing seeds are cheap!  

If you want the Echinacea mixed among the ajuga, you might try either starting the seeds indoors yourself or just buying a few echineacea plants.