Menu

Weightlifting women--questions

nevergiveup

I would call myself casual when it comes to using weights.

For those of you who are serious, I have some questions:

Do you weightlift at home or at a gym?

If you do it at home, what sort of equipment do you use--do you own a squat rack or something similar?

And, this is because I wimp out and need motivation:  how much weight are you lifting?

At home, but I would prefer the gym.

Me haz.

Me wants.

Me wants this too.

Me recommends.

I also have bands, a swiss ball, and a few other miscellaneous items. I've done various Beachbody programs and now I'm doing mixed martial arts and the weight training program from that book. Well, technically I'm nursing a hiking injury, but that's what I would like to be doing.

Dumbbell exercises vary between 17lbs and 30lbs. I'm only squatting 60, but I *just* got my barbell and I haven't done a deadlift yet.

• Like 1

I've been lifting at a gym for almost two months :)

We have a bench similar to that third link at home, w a bar too heavy for me and lots of weights. We also have a few sets of dumbbells, a Swiss ball, an adjustable step, and lots of various bands.

I squat a whopping 35 lbs but deadlift 60 lb and bench press 50 lb :D Yesterday I leg-pressed 270 lb, the same amount my dh does :D

I have a tricky shoulder and cannot fully extend my arm above my head nor do fly-like moves with weight higher than 5 lb. Because of that, I work with a trainer. He's helping me get stronger all over while not hurting myself :)

• Like 2

I've done it at the gym -- Squat just under 300 lbs and bench just over 100 -- but I really got kinda bored with going over there. I've been working my way through the startbodyweight program, which is tremendous fun.