Menu

What next? Finished HOP 2 early!

elah

My DD in 1st grade just finished both Hooked on Phonics 1st and 2nd grade this year. She really is doing well w/ reading. I was thinking about just letting her read books from the library out loud to me for the rest of the year instead of adding another level on. But I was not sure if that would be okay. Also, is she done with phonics? What do we do next year? I'm a newbie to this. :) 

BTW, she is also doing explode the code online. She completed book 1 and is about 2 weeks away from finishing book 2 level. She really does NOT like this and I am thinking about stopping it once she is done with book 2 level. Thoughts? 

My DD in 1st grade just finished both Hooked on Phonics 1st and 2nd grade this year. She really is doing well w/ reading. I was thinking about just letting her read books from the library out loud to me for the rest of the year instead of adding another level on. But I was not sure if that would be okay. Also, is she done with phonics? What do we do next year? I'm a newbie to this. :)

BTW, she is also doing explode the code online. She completed book 1 and is about 2 weeks away from finishing book 2 level. She really does NOT like this and I am thinking about stopping it once she is done with book 2 level. Thoughts? 

Reading aloud from good trade books (books you'd find at the library, as opposed to textbooks) would be a good thing. :-)

You could think about spelling. And of course my recommendation would be Spalding, which would simultaneously cover penmanship, capitalization and punctuation, and simple writing, as well as filling in any gaps in her phonics knowledge---a whole English course in one fell swoop. :-)