Menu

Which engineering college would you consider for your dd?

miamom

I am a longtime reader, but finally made an account!  My dd will start college next year, please give me the hive's opinions on the following if you have any knowledge of them. I am new to this-she is my first one to attend college.  We live in TN for reference.

-Georgia Tech (also please give insight-would you let your dd live in Atlanta?)

-Rose-Hulman

-Missouri S and T (formally U of MO-Rolla)-

-Case Western (same with Atlanta-would you let your dd live in Cleveland?)

-CO School of Mines

-University of Alabama-Huntsville

I can't comment on the colleges but I can comment on "letting" your dd live in a city (e.g. Atlanta, Cleveland).  Take her to visit and learn what the areas surrounding the college are like so that she can make an informed decision.  City life has a way of becoming second-nature in a short time; no big deal (I went off to Boston at 18 and later moved to San Francisco and Chicago).  I wouldn't necessarily be less concerned about safety at a suburban or rural campus than an urban one.

I worked at Georgia Tech as a 20-something single girl in the 80s and found it perfectly safe. There's plenty to do on campus, & she'd quickly learn how to explore the big city safely with friends.

My brother went to Case Western, and it's similar. No problems, just don't go wandering off campus alone till you know what's OK.

Both are terrific schools for engineering. Is that her final list? Has she also considered U Rochester or Carnegie Mellon? Both are in the same range academically as CWRU and GT and are great places for STEM girls.

and welcome to the forums!

True, Kathy. I am amazed by how similar Case and University of Rochester are, even down to the associated world class music and medical schools.

My dd#2 is interested in both. I like 'em both, too.... but UR is *here*, for goodness sakes!