Menu

Do any of you have any advice in choosing a school?

Background - I'm brand new to homeschooling and have been using K curriculum with my almost 5 YO DD. I may be going back to work and would need to find a school for DD. If she goes to school, she won't be able to start a K program until next september because of her late fall birthday.

We live in a big city with a failed school district. The neighborhood school's test scores are about 50% (not considered a failed school by the district). It's about 90% low income and 60% English second language. There are gifted and classical public schools that require very high test scores (supposedly about 99%) for admission. I've scheduled testing for DD but have not done any test prep (seriously - for K????).

There are several private schools in the area with excellent reputations that also very selective. Most of their K classes are selected a year in advance so we're applying late.

There are also several parochial schools in the area. None have a reputation for academics but the communities are nice and class sizes are small. The curriculum they use is pretty uninspiring. Basically they use what the PS uses (Everyday Math and things like the Writer's Workshop).

I hate the idea of my almost 5 YO DD competiting to get into the rigorous schools. But I hate the mediocre curriculum found in the neighborhood PS and parochial schools. I don't think afterschooling would work at the rigorous schools because they assign many hours of homework and doubt that it would be necessary anyway.

The admissions people at the parochial schools hardly discuss curriculum or anything academic with potential parents. They brag about their test scores (acceptable) and where their grads go to high school. The parochial schools follow the common core which does not concern me if implemented well which does not seem to be the case. For example, they claim to be in compliance but did not change the math curriculum.