Menu

Dr. Hive - Do I need a tetanus shot?

texasmama

I vote no, but I am not a medical professional.  Sigh.

This evening I stuck my hand in the trash and cut it on dh's freshly opened soup can.  It was not too deep - about two inches long.  It bled nicely, I swabbed it with betadine, glued the edges together with superglue and put Bactroban on it, then covered it with two bandaids.  My hands were clean when I got the cut.    (Hadn't been outside digging in the garden and had washed them recently.)  The can was just opened.

My last tetanus shot might possibly have been 20-25 years ago.  I do not want a tetanus shot "just in case".  My visit and the shot for wherever I go will be out of pocket, and I don't want to go to a doc in the box or to my own doc and expose myself to terrible germs for a "just in case".

From what I can google, this does not sound like a high risk for tetanus, but if some medical folks can please weigh in, I think I might feel better.  :)

I'm not a medical person, but I wouldn't get a tetanus shot for that.

Me, either, but then I wondered if that was prudent.   Google was not a ton of help, but it did say that you get tetanus from dirt and feces, and there was not any dirt or feces involved.  I had just gotten back from errands so I had washed my hands really well and they were extra clean. 

Every time I look up similar, the medical refrain is to have a tetanus booster shot every ten years. Using superglue on a wound would concern me.

Hope you heal soon!

That's what they do in the ERs so I figure it's okay.  I did it to stop the bleeding and knit the edges together, but I could have probably gone without it just fine.  It wasn't deep.

That's what they do in the ERs so I figure it's okay. I did it to stop the bleeding and knit the edges together, but I could have probably gone without it just fine. It wasn't deep.

I was thinking that the hospital version would be sterile, in contrast to the hardware store product.