Menu

Suggestions for 5th Grade Language Curriculum

Hello all.  I'm brand new to homeschooling, with one child in 2nd Grade and the eldest in 5th.  I am getting our materials together for the year (slow start, long story :crying: ) and 'think' I have almost everything chosen....except....I'm stumped on the Language program choice for my 5th grader.  Some of this may be overwhelm on my part, so I'd really appreciate any guidance from those of you with more experience in this realm.

WTM - which I am using as my core guide for this starting year - recommends Rod & Staff 'Following the Plan' for 5th grade, however I'm finding it a bit difficult to track down a set...and have read mixed reviews despite the strong endorsement from WTM.  We are not closed to using a Christian resource, but are also open to a more secular program.  I like the notion of having everything in one place (grammar, composition) etc. as simpler is going to be better for us in these early days.

The other options WTM recommends include various combinations of Voyages in English, Shurley English, Writing Strands, and others (hence my slight overwhelm!).

We will also be using the Spelling Workouts....

As information, my child is an excellent reader and an enthusiastic writer.  She very much enjoys language and it shouldn't be a chore to have her take on whichever program we settle on.

Any thoughts and suggestions would be wildly appreciated!