Menu

Dancing Bears - which book?

AimeeM

DS is 5. He knows his letters, sounds for the letters, "magic E", ee, ay, and a couple more; he is blending (slowly) CVC words.

I know on the site it says to start 5 year old pupils in A1 (industrial strength version of Book A), but it also specifies that this books is for children at the very beginning of reading (learning letters, sounds). Should I just use Book A instead?

I am not an expert on this, but we are using Dancing Bears A right now with DS6 who has no LD and DD9 who is rebellious about reading.

Funnix software is working great for ds4. It is Reading and Math.  The DB books before level A look very similar to the Funnix Reading lessons to me.  I printed out the worksheets for Funnix as well.  

Educents had Funnix Math and Reading ( level 1 -2 ) absolutely FREE last December.

I have a question after looking at your Sig.... Do you like PAL reading and writing?  I almost bought it but decided on DB for simplicity since we have 8 children and very busy lives!

DS is 5. He knows his letters, sounds for the letters, "magic E", ee, ay, and a couple more; he is blending (slowly) CVC words.

I know on the site it says to start 5 year old pupils in A1 (industrial strength version of Book A), but it also specifies that this books is for children at the very beginning of reading (learning letters, sounds). Should I just use Book A instead?

You could email the author.  She has been very helpful to me! 

From what you have said, I'm thinking Bear Necessities A1 would be a better fit, but I'm not an expert!  This year I started my 7 year old dd in Dancing Bears A.  She was previously easily reading CVC words, silent e, and some consonant blends.  She is doing well, but it might move too fast for your son since he is younger and more of a beginner.