Menu

Disney dining on a budget people...

StaceyinLA

I have been a Disney travel agent for about 6 months now, and I'm working on having some good info on hand. I tend to do a lot of bookings for families looking to stay on a budget. I'd like to have a list of your favorite counter meals on a budget (best meals to share, cheapest meals, most for your money, etc.), as well as any possible table service meals you can recommend on a budget.

I have some ideas, but I'd like to get a listing in one place so I can make a document to share with those families that really need to keep the costs down. Sometimes just getting there at all is a struggle, so the meals need to be really kept at a minimum.

Also, if you want to share a snack item that is a good value, or could serve as a light lunch, that would be awesome as well.

Thanks for the help!!

We loved the places with the burger bars as they have a lot of toppings and it is a way to get in some veggies (lettuce, tomato, etc).  Not sure if it is "lega' but many places let us order kids meals for adults when we asked.

Also, at Hollywood Studios, at Catalina Eddie's counter service, the sub sandwiches are big enough to share and feel you have had a full meal. The Writer's Stop is a cute little snack spot with lots of baked goods that can be shared -- giant cookies and muffins, etc.

It is also easy to split a box of popcorn among a family, so that everyone shares one snack.

And of course, you can ask for a free cup of ice water at any food counter, so you could go the whole day without purchasing drinks.

With the free dining plan, the absolute best deal we've found is eating at Wolfgang Puck's Café in Downtown Disney. It counts as a counter service meal, but there is a wait staff who brings the food after ordering. The portions are large enough to have leftovers to take back to the room, and it is so yummy. The best food I've had at the parks.