Menu

Have any flea advice?

Katy

We got a new puppy last night that we are affectionately calling Flea Bag.  I dosed her with K9 Advantix II already (she's old and big enough), and she was given a bath before she came to our house so I don't want to give her another one too soon.  She's currently snuggled on the sofa nearby and I can see the fleas on her and it's bugging me.

Do you think I should just let the flea medicine do its job?  Use a flea comb?  I could put some essential oils on her collar too if you think that might help (I've got a lot of the ones that supposively repel fleas - lavender, peppermint, cedar, lemongrass, though I've never used them in this context before because generally our pets don't have fleas).

Hmm . . . you just applied it last night?  I don't think it's surprising you're still seeing live fleas.

If you have a flea comb, I'd get busy with that.  It certainly won't hurt, and it'll speed up the process.  Put puppy on an old white sheet or towel to help you see the fleas, and have an old container filled with soapy water or alcohol so you can drown them as you pull them off.

Depending on the puppy's age and weight, you might want to consider getting a Capstar pill from your vet.  I *think* ideally the pup should be eight weeks old and weigh at least two pounds to take Capstar, although it can be given to puppies as young as four weeks old.  But the younger the pup the more risk there is of adverse side effects.

Thanks everyone.  I'd never even heard of Capstar before.  I gave her the advantix this morning, it's supposed to kill 90% of fleas in 12 hours. I saw a few already dead on her and decided to just dig out an old flea comb instead of driving a couple of hours to the closest place I could get Capstar today (our vet is on vacation and it didn't seem worthy of an emergency visit).