Menu

i'm new to the low carb game and have a couple of pressing questions:

Rose in BC

On the advice of my dr I began low carb 3 weeks ago and have been fairly strict, although we did have a family vacation for 10 days during that time but I only indulged a couple of times.

So here is my question.  there is so much advice on the web, some of it seems contradictory.  How do you know you're doing it right?  i have a lot of weight to loose so I guess I thought i'd loose a lot right away but as of today I've lost just over 5 pounds.  I definitely had the low carb flu. . . . nauseau, etc. and itchy skin.  I'm aiming at 50 carbs a day.

Everyone talks about weight "melting off".  That, thus far, has not been my experience.  Am i just being impatient? :)

Overall I'm liking how I feel on this eating plan so i'm trying to keep that in mind while I wait for weight loss.

I agree with sparkly... I don't think the weight melted off.   When I want to eat carefully and watch my carbs the best way I know is the track everything I put in my mouth.   Initially, all I do is track what I eat and how many carbs.  Later I may add tracking calories and carbs (because I think they do matter - esp. now that I'm 50). 

Have you found lowcarbfriends ?  It's a great site for LCers. 

The sites that I found that said weight "melted" off set the bar at a LOT less than 50g of carbs a day (are you not subtracting fiber grams from that count?). More like 20g.

And i think part of it depends if you were eating a really high carb diet before. THe bigger the difference, the faster the drop, iykwim.

I count carb grams - fiber grams - sugar "alcohol" grams = total carbs

I never counted carbs, I just gave them up. No sugar, no flour, no potatoes. 50 sounds like a lot. I'd urge you to go hard core veggies and protein ONLY for a time-30 days, 100 days, etc. Weigh at the end of that time period.