Menu

Experience with CPO Earth science?

I'm searching for secular options for earth science for my 11 yo, and am interested in CPO. I noticed that they seem to have 2 levels or books of different depths; I would only be interested in the deeper version (not Fundamentals of..., I think it's called).

For those of you who have used it, what did you like? What didn't you like? What did you tweak?

I'd like an depth study, but one that lends itself to chasing rabbit trails. I am not good at following a script. :) I'm also looking for something with writing assignments--DS is a Big Thinker, but a reluctant writer. I'm also wondering if the student guide is necessary (did you find the projects worthwhile? Why or why not? DS doesn't need hands on projects to solidify comprehension).

TIA!

Check my signature for a link to the CPO Earth stuff we did for dd's fifth grade year (our first year homeschooling). (Please excuse the neglected blog otherwise lol.)

There are two types of CPO middle school books, the "regular" and the "focus on...". The difference is that some topics are shifted among the three book series to align the "focus on..." books with California science standards. Whichever series you pick, stick with it for other books so you don't double up on or skip topics totally. The online resources from CPO match with the regular series---you'd have to work at matching up activities with the "focus on..." series.