Menu

Five yo handwriting

This is my first time having a younger child who wants to and can write and I am just not sure if how she does it is normal! My dd turned five in Jan and she loves to spell cvc words. The thing is no one can tell that she is actually writing words because her letters look more like hieroglyphs. They are sideways, upside down, backwards and maybe even inside out!

I just would like to know if I should be concerned. Big brother is dyslexic and she does have similar difficulties hearing sounds, but she can rhyme and tell me the beginning and ending sounds of simple words as well as spell very well (cvc only) so I am just wanting to hear that hieroglyphs are normal at age five...please tell me they are!

Oh, in case it helps to know more about her, her fine motor skills are a bit delayed. She is just now confident with cutting and still can't color at all neatly or draw anything recognizable. (Everything she draws kind of looks like an octopus.) She was also a late walker and talker and used sign language for over a year before starting to talk much.

I understand your concerns.  Your DD sounds normal; however, you can opt to take a more deliberate approach with your DD if that makes you feel better.  Maybe, continue to color with her and perform wheelbarrow walks with her to strengthen her arms, hands, and torso.  HWT sells a Wet-Dry-Try app for the IPAD that is useful for teaching letter formation.  Have her eyes checked.  We learned my 5 yo DD has a moderate astigmatism and is far sighted.  Overall, work with her gently, try not to freak out, and give her time.  If you don't see improvement by the end of next school year, consider an OT eval.