Menu

Differences btwn 3rd and 4th grade

I feel like 4th grade is going to be different than the previous years. Dd 9.5 is maturing and thinking differently. She is a fall birthday, so an older 4th grader. For an average student, what kinds of things should be introduced or reinforced at this age? What changes did you notice academically and socially between 8-10?

Plans so far are:

LA: LLATL continuing through orange and in to purple

Math: continuing on with Singapore

Health: mom based

Science: Evan Moor Daily Science

Social Studies: Adventures through America and Evan Moor Daily Geography

Art: continuing HAS and The Worlds Greatest Artists

Music: The Great Composers

I'm not experienced... My oldest is just finishing up 4th, but my focus for 4th/5th is writing. I require more output, make sure sentences make sense, write paragraphs that stay on topic, and just really implementing a writing program. My goals for the middle school years are to go more in depth with literature and content subjects, so I want her to be able to have the tools to express her thoughts on that content. I feel like 4/5th is a transition year for that type of work.

Yeah, writing is the big difference here as well, though we weren't writing narrations until the END of 4th grade. That was my goal, and we made it. Phew! 5th grade will be a big focus on writing. If my son had been ready, 4th grade would have been more writing-focused (he's on the younger side for his grade).