Menu

Raising a steer for meat

plain jane

Friends of ours have land and we may have the opportunity to purchase a steer and keep it on their land so we can raise it for meat (for our family, not for resale).  They are newbies too and I am just starting to look into this so I thought I would ask here as I am sure there are families here with experience.

So- what all can you tell a total newbie to this?  What is involved with raising a calf to slaughter- how much land does one need to have enough food (not land use restrictions) for a couple steers (one for our family- one for theirs).  Do you purchase hay or is the grass in the pasture enough?  Can animals be bought during different times of the year or only certain times?  How many years before the "meat" is ready and the steer can be slaughtered?  What else is involved?  What are the "hidden" costs?

Ok. Laugh away.  I'm so green about this but I am eager to learn.  Please point me in the right direction.  With a large family and multiple food allergies, having a chance to get some quality free range beef at a reasonable price is enticing.

TIA

Friends of ours have land and we may have the opportunity to purchase a steer and keep it on their land so we can raise it for meat (for our family, not for resale).  They are newbies too and I am just starting to look into this so I thought I would ask here as I am sure there are families here with experience.