Menu

If you were going to reteach yourself...

as in, brush up on grammar (getting into the nitty gritty parts of speech), redo all maths, do a history overview, and perhaps redo some sciences, what programs would you use?

I graduated all my kids, but it's been a few years since I have really worked through the maths on my own. I've always been strong in grammar, and a pretty good writer, but I'd like to revisit grammar in more detail. I have never been a history fan, but would like to learn it in a more interesting way, and I really want to go back through Chemistry myself as well.

I'm considering a return to college, and I just want to be completely refreshed on everything.

WWYD?

No advice on the grammar.

For history, I would go with Teaching Company lectures. Very engaging, in depth analysis, can be listened to while driving or doing housework.

For math, *I* personally prefer AoPS - it is the way I would explain concepts to another person, I like the emphasis on thinking over drill, and it radiates joy the way I have not seen from any other math program.

For chemistry, I would get a college text like Chang's General Chemistry and simply work through it, supplementing with Khan academy videos if needed ( I have never found the need to use videos besides textbooks since everything is explained in the text and I just have to take the time to work through it carefully and puzzle out the meaning.)

I use Khan Academy (free website) for myself, to help freshen up my own math so I can better help my high schoolers.

I play on Duolingo for Spanish too. (Free website and app)

If you like Rod and Staff English I'd probably go with the 8 book. The 9 and 10 levels focus more on writing than grammar.

Agreeing with SilverMoon about level 8 of Rod and Staff.