Menu

deciding to join a co-op or Classical Conversations or something else

mommy5

I have 5 little ones (3 school age) and I used to be very active in community type events (when baby 4 was a baby and before) since our 5th arrived (2 years ago) I've mostly stayed in the house.  I'm an introvert and have survived living like this but there are times when I miss being around other adults (and the kids playing with other kids other than our neighbors and each other).  So, I'm thinking of joining a co-op.  Any ideas or advice?  I'm also thinking of joining classical conversations which I've never done before.  How hard is that with 2 pre-schoolers/toddlers?  (We have a 3yr old and 2 yr old).  I need to make something work - it doesn't have to be every week but it needs to be more often than we are doing now...

Do you have a budget?  If so, you need to consider that if you want to keep CC on the table. At least out here, it is not cheap. I think we paid somewhere around $650 for both of my boys last year (they were K and 1st). They do charge for the nursery at the campus I was at also, so you would need to account for that. If they are older than 3rd grade and you might do Essentials (done in the afternoon--it is grammar/writing/math) then that would be extra money also. You would need to pay for nursery care for any kids not doing Essentials during that afternoon period. Also you need to add in the cost for the curriculum--the foundations guide and CD's at a minimum--maybe around $75.  CC is obviously also a classical curriculum, and some families use it as their core. That may or may not be appealing.  CC is one where you would not "have" to teach. If they have a tutor position open, teaching would possibly save you money--it would require going through their training, but you would get money that you can apply toward the tuition. CC's morning usually runs 9:30-12:30 with lunch after, then the afternoon Essentials courses start at 1 p.m. or thereabouts.