Menu

Stick w/ MiF or Switch to MM

Soror

Well, as I posted in my other thread I'm using MiF with my 1st grader. She likes it for the most part because she really enjoys the workbook with all the pictures. She doesn't like the textbook however and is rather annoyed when I try to go over things in it with her. She does get frustrated at times with the harder concepts. As a teacher I feel uncertain at times teaching it and I'm sure that will only intensify, without using the actual teacher's book I'm worried that I'm missing something yet the price for the TM are quite expensive. I worry in the future as the concepts and work become more advanced that it will perhaps become too much as she tends towards frustration easily.

Because of all of this I'm considering MM for next year. I think she will like the explanation in the text and will enjoy the ability to be a bit more independent (or at least it appears that independence will likely be easier a bit earlier w/ MM vs. MiF). I will quite like having a program that it is not quite as teacher intensive  and a bit more simple in implementation(especially with 2 more coming).. My concern of course is that she will find it boring. I'm also worried that I'm selling her short on rigor and that challenging her more would be good practice for her (of course the consideration of rigor from MM to MiF is quite subjective and I'm not quite sure from reading what would be considered the most rigorous of the two). She likes things that are incremental with no big leaps and it seems MM certainly fits the bill in that regard.