Menu

Changes in AP (and other test prep) through the years

I graduated from good public high school in 1987 that offered one AP class - AP Chemistry.  I took the class as a junior.  We did not take any practice tests in class or do a lot of review.  I did no review outside of class nor did my peers that I know of.  I walked into the test cold, took it, and scored well enough the place out of Chemistry at the state university where I majored in engineering.  It was pretty much the same for the SAT.  We took it once without the prep classes, etc. and that was it.  I was not a gifted student, just your typical hard worker.  I took two other AP tests my senior year without the official courses and with the same lack of prep and did fine again.

Fast forward to today... my son is taking AP Chem, and the test prep is significant.  Many, many practice tests and all of the tests through the year have been geared to be like an AP test.  I am gearing up to teach AP Calculus next year and the emphasis on test practice is not insignificant.

I am trying to wrap my brain around this.  Is it harder to score well these days because the curve is driven higher because kids are prepping more which drives the curve up which.... you get the idea. :)

Or are the tests just harder now?

Thoughts?

Part of the problem is that the AP test is not like normal class tests (in college or anywhere else).