Menu

Latina Christiana vs Latin For Children

TXMary2

I am trying to decide what to use next when my ds finishes Prima Latina. I am pretty sure I am going to go with  Latina Christiana with the instructional DVD, but I would like to hear experiences/opinions from those who are familiar with both curriculums.  I understand the approaches may be different, but I don't know how they are different.

I am no Latin expert, but I will give you my 2 cents :001_smile: .  My oldest ds started with Prima Latina in 3rd, Latina Christaina I in 4th, Latina Christiana II in 5th, and Henle online middle school course in 6th (through Memoria Press).  I then chatted with a former homeschooled student on these boards who was a classics major.  She recommended we switch to Wheelock's Latin for high school as she felt it better prepared the student for reading the older Latin authors.  So we switched to Wheeleock's Latin and did the first year at home (about 15 chapters) in 7th grade.  I then enrolled ds in Latin II with Regina Coeli for 8th grade.  It was a fine course, but they then changed the direction of their program and were no longer going to offer AP Latin.  We switched to Lukeion for Latin III (9th grade), and he is now enrolled in Lukeion's AP Latin. 

This is a long way of explaining why I chose to have my daughter do the Latin for Children series.  We completed LFC A and B before she started Lukeion Latin I this year.  I knew I wanted her to start off taking Latin I with Lukeion, and I also discovered that LFC closely followed Wheelock's sequence and vocabulary.  This made the trasition to Lukeion Latin I much easier, as she already knew a great deal of the vocabulary and grammar (at least for the first semester).