Menu

College debt crisis

8filltheheart

I don't pretend to understand the ins and outs of this and since, by the grace of God (literally), we have never taken any college loans, I have no personal experience with the loan process and have zero plans to find out. But thought I'd share the article in case others found it informative.

http://www.dailyfinance.com/2014/03/19/student-loan-crisis-worse-than-you-think/

The NY Fed has been analyzing the student loan situation for several years now.  I have read bits and pieces of their reports but one thing that I have wondered has not surfaced in their analysis--at least to my knowledge.  Prior to the '08 debacle, many parents contributed to their kids' college funds by using home equity.  I have wondered if Parent Plus loans have increased because of this.

The median amount of student debt, a fact reported by the NY Fed, is roughly $25K. For many students this is manageable debt.

I'm a broken record on this one.  Parents need to open those college savings accounts when a child is born. 

Ă¢â‚¬Â¦ The median amount of student debt, a fact reported by the NY Fed, is roughly $25K. For many students this is manageable debt.

I'm a broken record on this one.  Parents need to open those college savings accounts when a child is born. 

I wish this WAS the solution, Jane! But there is NO way most parents can save enough to cover the cost, especially if they have more than 1 child!

Starting the month that each of our 2 DSs was born, we have monthly set aside money for college with what options were open to us -- first through savings bonds, then through ESA accounts.