Menu

If you are a mandatory reporter....

AlmiraGulch

....and you reported a member of your family for suspected child neglect, what happened?

Did your family member figure out it was you?  Did you lose your relationship with the reported person?  Did anything positive come of it, such as the circumstances that you reported being corrected?  Or, did nothing really happen except you lost your relationship?

Someone close to me is in this situation.  I know she has genuine concern for her grandchild, and I know she misses her terribly because she is rarely allowed to see her, but I fear she used the "mandatory reporter" thing as an excuse to report what I think may not actually be neglect, bur rather less than ideal living conditions.  I fear nothing good will come of it.

I have no personal experience with this.  I think it is anonymous.  Though subject matter might make it obvious, if it's something that would only be observed by a handful of people.

I am wondering - if one is a mandatory reporter, does that apply to close family?

Of course anyone should report if they think someone is really being abused/neglected, but I think mandatory reporters have to report things that might not actually be abuse/neglect, right?

Yes, it applies to close family.  And I think she has talked herself into believing it is actually neglect, although I'm not sure I'd agree. 

I do agree that the child in question lives in unseemly living conditions, and some things have happened that could indicate neglect, but it isn't clear cut to me.  I think this is going to backfire on her.  Meaning, nothing will happen to improve the child's living conditions, and she will no longer see her child or grandchild, which I think will be worse for the grandchild. 

In my state, mandatory reporting is mandatory in the work setting only but optional outside of a work setting. Personally though, I wouldn't hesitate based on a work or non-work situation.