Menu

s/o Does what we do in high school matter?

I thought we could ease some of the discussion about high school methodology and results away from Helena's excellent thread, so we don't distract from her original post.

I have a couple of links that may be of interest:

Over one-third of students entering college need remedial help

Are AP Courses Worth the Effort?

The Gap Between Enrolling in College and Being Ready for College

Nearly One in Five Freshmen...

Is the AP Program Worth It?

Advanced Placement vs. Dual Enrollment

To answer the question in your post title: yes, of course it does matter what we do in high school.

As a college instructor, I have the opportunity to observe high school graduates from many different schools once they are done with high school and early in their college education. What happened in high school does have a tremendous impact on their ability to function in college.

This effect has several layers.

First, rather obviously, the academic preparation affects a students preparation for college. Students who received substandard math instruction struggle, even if they are motivated, because it is extremely hard to fill in gaps in math retroactively.