Menu

Living books approach to 9th grade biology?

I thought something had been posted about this before but I can't find it in a search.

Has anyone used a living books approach to high school biology instead of using a text book? I've seen some book lists online but has anyone done it? I think this way would work so much better for my oldest but for some reason I'm afraid to make the leap. It feels so out-of-the-box.

Thank you! That is helpful. I came across another plan here: http://www.gracefulthought.blogspot.com/p/biology-w-living-books-guide.html

I bought the Apologia biology about five years ago because I got it for such a great deal but now the thought of using it makes me want to cry. Lol Yesterday ds was asking why we couldn't read several good books like we do for other subjects.

Sadie, are you taking this approach with other sciences (chemistry, physics)?

• Like 1

I have no first hand experience with it, but this plan of study has always looked appealing to me:

High School Biology with Living Books by Jamie McMillin. The resources used are listed here and include Hoagland's The Way Life Works: The Science Lover's Illustrated Guide to How Life Grows, Develops, Reproduces, and Gets Along.

ETA  ~  See live links in my post dated 9/23/2017 below.

Regards,

Kareni

• Like 1

My ds did a living books approach to biology using many of the books already listed in this thread. Wanted to add I am Joe's Body. It's out of print, but you can find it online if you poke around a bit. I think I've heard there's a girl version of the same book titled I am Jane's Body.

Another title my ds enjoyed was Microbe Hunters.

HTH

• Like 1

I think some of these will repeat books mentioned in previous posts, but here is our list:

• The Botany of Desire: A Plant's-Eye View of the World by Michael Pollan
  • The Nature of Life: Readings in Biology
  • Exploring the Way Life Works: The Science of Biology by Hoagland, Dodson and Hauck