Menu

Can you please help me with 9th grade English?

I could use a set of "experienced" eyes to look at my plans for 9th grade English and help me make a decision. Its our first year, I'm still learning and I am not sure if I'm doing this right. I'll give a little background on how I got to this current plan:

I originally had planned for her to take English Honors thru FLVS. I liked the idea of her having a teacher to answer to, not me =) BUT... After looking at their syllabus I realized it was going to be WAY too much reading for her on top of Ancient History readings. She is interested in studying Ancient History so we are going to have her do MOH vol1 and possibly vol 2 with a more in depth study on Egypt and Greek Mythology. She has expressed interest in workbook type curriculum's also, SOOOO I am thinking of getting CLE's English 1.

(I bought CLE LA 400 for my 4th grader and she peeked through and is pretty happy with it.)

CLE English is just 1/2 credit (grammar, essay & speech). They recommend taking their Literature units for the other 1/2 credit but its not mandatory and I'm not interested. The other 1/2 credit for English is listed as 10th grade. 

I also am VERY interested in getting her Ancient Literature Supplements with Grammar & Composition by MFW, it looks like a perfect fit with MOH. And they said it can stand alone as it is their spine for the English part of MFW. 

So looking at the scope & sequence of both above choices I have a dilemma, I have no idea how much is too much or if its not enough.

If anyone has viewed the above curriculums:

should I get CLE English 1, 9th and 10 grade AND the Ancient Lit supplement? Or should I have her just do CLE English 1 9th grade only along with the Ancient Lit supplement? Or is the Ancient Lit supplement enough on its own? 

Advice would be very much appreciated, I'm stumped on this one!!