Menu

Conference Questions- New to Homeschooling

Background:

-I'm new to homeschooling.

-We are a Christian family.

-I like the concept of classical education, but I'm not sure how it will actually play out.

-My daughter will be in first grade. She's an only.

-I live in WV near VA, PA, MD.

-I am seriously confused about curriculum. But I am trying to keep it simple by mostly starting with what is recommended in WTM. If I need to make changes later on, I will.

-I plan on joining a local homeschool group and so far I've heard that some of them use Sonlight, Christian Light, and stuff from Timberdoodle. It's not a big deal if my curriculum doesn't match up with the majority of the group, is it?

Questions:

-What are the pros and cons of attending a conference?

-What conferences have you enjoyed?

-Will I be more confused than ever after seeing all of the curriculum options?

Thank you all!

Pros of conferences:

You get to lay your hands on things you've only read about. There may be speakers with thought-provoking or useful ideas. You can network with others and meet new people.

Cons of conferences:

Many won't have good speakers or enough curriculum to make it worth your time. Prices at the conventions may not be the best ones.

But I think the biggest con is that some conferences are as interested in defining the "right" way to homeschool and the "right" way to be Christian than anything else. There are a lot of internal homeschool political squabbles around conferences - people invited and uninvited, religious values litmus tests for speakers and dealers, a focus on side issues instead of education... All not good. :(

I find conferences are good for two reasons:

1) If I'm feeling uninspired/burned out/discouraged, a few good speakers can set me up for awhile.

2) If I'm considering a particular curriculum and want to flip through it/ask questions.