Menu

Boys using public restrooms- when to allow them in the men's room alone

lincap

This weekend at an outdoor mall my middle guy needed to use the bathroom. I found the restrooms and went in the ladies room with my three boys (ages 3, 5, and 7). In the restroom was another mom with her two boys about ages 2 and 4. Another woman with no children with her said loudly but not looking at either of us "since when did the ladies room become the boys room" and left after washing her hands.

When I am out with my boys, I look for family restrooms (Target has one, Lowes has one, indoor mall has one..) but if there are no family restrooms, then I take them into the ladies room with me. I try to move as quickly as possible, not to bother other women. And normally I have had no negative experiences in the bathroom.

I don't feel comfortable allowing my 5 and 7 year old into a men's room alone and I don't know yet what age I would feel ok with that.

So tell me, at what age do you allow your boys to enter the men's room alone?

I don't want to make any women or girls uncomfortable by having boys in the bathroom, but I want to maintain safety as well. My 5 yr old still needs help reaching soap in some bathrooms and figuring out various faucets and hand dryers can be difficult.

Thoughts?

• Replies 101
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Probably about 7. I forget with the oldest. It was about the time he could spend the entire time singing if he went into a large restroom. Singing equaled me standing outside the door. If the music stopped I'd be storming in waving my Mom flag to find out what happened to my kid.