Menu

visual processor/Dyslexic/HFA?? math & reading....sorry, long

Background:

so....My daughter will be 5 in August. We've been homeschooling this past year mostly as a test for myself since I've never done it before. Through this I've learned, at the least, that she is a visual learner (not sure if actually VPL...that seems to be a very specific and technical determination). She certainly has difficulty processing information auditorily so read-aloud story comprehension questions are a bit of a nightmare. Memorization/recitation is difficult and she needs visual (or song) cues to retrieve the information. Recently while getting her younger sister evaluated for speech (apraxic), my concerns with my older daughter came up: specifically no matter how much I've taught it, she can't 'get' rhymes, she mixes up the sounds in her words (gymnaskits, gis =disk, disketti - spaghetti, etc...).