Menu

Homeschool or charter school?

Hello,

I'd love to get a little input from folks with kids at school, for whatever reason. I've been homeschooling for two years, have a daughter in second and a son in K. I put them in a lottery for a very well-regarded music/arts charter school on a kind of whim a few months ago, and it turns out their names were drawn and they can enroll next year.

This throws me for a loop because homeschooling is going pretty well and we all enjoy it. My kids do not want to go to school. They are academically very strong and our local ps would not be a good fit, but this school reportedly does a great job with gifted students. We cannot afford many extracurriculars, including music, and I do feel stretched thin between homeschooling and working at home part-time in all my spare time, so I'm wondering if this might be a good move for my family.

If you moved from homeschooling to a public or charter, how did it go?

Thanks!

I entered my son into a lottery for a magnet school last year and he got in. I was torn between our neighborhood school and the magnet school. I realized that I could always enroll him in our neighborhood school if things didn't go well but I couldn't decide mid-year to go to the magnet school. So in your case since you children were accepted, you can try it and then if it doesn't work out you can go back to homeschooling whenever you want. I would also call and ask how hard it is to enter as a 1st and 3rd grader. When I asked at my magnet school, it is really hard to get in for first grade. You might not get them both in the following years. If it does work out at the charter school, there are at least 180 days the kids are not in school to afterschool.