Menu

What Should I be When I Grow Up?

Dh & I have decided we're both going back to school next year. We both have some college from 10+ yrs ago but no degree.

Now, time to pick a major at 32 yrs old, eek! My passion has always been meteorology ever since I was a kid but those types of jobs are harder to come by. With 2 kids, both of us in college at the same time, and the current economic environment, it's imperative I pick a major that will give me the best shot at actually landing a job relatively quickly after graduation. From what I'm finding atmospheric science is not that major.

So, what to pick? I love math & science although I'm not very good at chemistry. I'm a "big picture thinker" for sure. Details and minutea bore me and drive me crazy - it is for sure my biggest weakness. I love to plan things out but I fail at the execution because the details overwhelm me (thank God for detail-oriented dh!). I'm creative and can usually see new ways of doing things. My stress reliever & hobby is creating new recipes because I love the mix of science & creativity (gluten free recipes so more science than "regular" recipes).

Most of the math & science fields are very detail-oriented and that concerns me & yet I can't see myself working in another field. I'm considering some type of engineering but is that too detail-oriented? I'm not interested in healthcare at all except perhaps something like a biomedical engineer. I am not a good enough "people person" to work directly with patients.

So tell me, what the heck do I want to be when I grow up??

How about something in occupational safety or public health management?

Can you do some job shadows or company tours? Our homeschool group toured an engineering firm and we met with biomedical engineers who showed us some of their projects. We also toured a biotech firm and power plant at the Univ. Pretty interesting stuff!