Menu

To Tamiflu or not to Tamiflu?

Element

It's happening. The kids woke up feeling cold, dizzy, and tired. They ate a little and sat around glassy-eyed for a while. They are now both back in their beds, temperatures creeping higher by the half hour. Dd has a little cough. I think the flu has hit.

I have heard that Tamiflu, taken in the earliest stages of flu, can help it pass better/faster than it otherwise would have. Is this something I should look into? Our ped office is closed and we would have to to to Urgent Care. I'm a flu newb. We usually only have strep (dh/ds,) pneumonia (dd :() and ear infections (me) around here so I'm not really sure what people do when the flu hits your kids.

5:15 UPDATE copied & pasted from my post below:

Well, I didn't want to miss the Tamiflu window so I took them in. Ds tested positive for flu, dd tested negative. The doctor assumed they both had flu and gave them both Tamiflu prescriptions (and Motrin while we were there.) $271 dollars worth of Tamiflu later, the kids came home and took the first doses. Ds took his, ate half a sandwich (yay!) and went back to bed. Dd took hers, ate four bites of a sandwich and vomited up pretty much everything she had eaten in the past month (or so it seemed.) So who knows what she has. The medicine made her very gaggy; it could have just been a reaction to that. I guess I'll try again tonight to get the Tamiflu down her.

Thanks again, everyone, for your input earlier. I really appreciate it all.