Menu

Can I teach my kids piano?

Ok no flames from real musicians please, but honestly, can I teach my 5 and 7 year old basic piano using a text? I had 10 years of piano as a kid/young adult. I can read music reasonably well, but obviously have never taught and don't play much now.

Let me have it! (and yes, I'm expecting you all to tell me I'm just going to teach them bad habits). Right now dragging the kids to lessons and the expense is more than we can handle this year.

The biggest reason against teaching it yourself is proper touch (how your stroke keys, technique...). I have seen so many kids who have had years of lessons and accumulated bad habits. It's harder to relearn how to play that learn it right first time around. Also, make sure are you teaching phrasing from the beginning. If you can do that I don't see a reason why you can't teach.

Yes, you can teach them. I am a piano teacher, if that matters. I would recommend either Alfred Premier or Piano Adventures. The Premier books have technique books that go along with them. This will really help if you haven't played in a while. They are very good. You could also make use of the CDs. This would help them learn how things should sound.

The best thing you can do, though, is to sit down at a piano yourself and start playing again. It will all come back to you. If I can teach my daughter Latin with no prior knowledge on my part, you can tackle piano with your background. Ten years of lessons is a lot, and your kids are very young.

I've taught our five kids (stopped at high school). If you have a good relationship with them in homeschooling, this is just an extension of that.

I basically sit next to them every time they practice. Big time investment, but it eliminates all that "bad habit" problem. They progress much faster as well.

The first easy books are just teaching note value, notation, etc. Not too tough.