Menu

What is the longest paper your high school student has written?

I am a homeschool grad teaching in the homeschool community, and I'm just looking for some perspective. I am teaching a Rhetoric class and, while we have a lot of assignments, most of them are not very lengthy.

The longest paper I wrote was about 15 pages and that wasn't until my senior year. My husband wrote a 30 page thesis in his Honors level PS class.

What do you think is reasonable? How does that compare to the college experience you/ your dc had/anticipate?

Thanks!

Wow.

The longest my kids wrote in high school was ~5 pages or so.

At college no one could believe they hadn't written longer papers, but they did well and were able to overcome the lack of sufficient paper-writing in h.s.! :001_smile:

It probably didn't help their h.s. paper-writing that dh and I went to an engineering school -- until I wrote a thesis, I never had to write a paper onger than 5 pages! But my kids successfully wrote 15 page papers and theses, etc. Dd2 will continue the tradition of graduating not having written more than a 5-page paper!

In 10th grade, the longest paper ds wrote was a 10 page research paper (for Laurel Tree tutorials - highly recommend). 8-12 pages were required. Ds's had 3175 words.

In 11th grade, the longest paper ds has written so far was for CC Honors Composition 1. Required 700-1200 words. I'll have to see if I can find his paper.

I have a bachelor's in math and a master's in Industrial Engineering. I avoided writing like the plague all during high school, college, and grad school. Took the non-thesis grad option...

My longest paper in high school was a 12-page research paper my junior year.