Menu

Math Lessons for a Living Education. Does anyone use this?

Ruthie in MS

I'm really thinking about using Math Lessons for a Living Education by Queen Homeschool next year for dd6 and dd8 (dd8 would use book 4 that is going to be released soon). I really like that it has a story element to it and I really don't want to use Life of Fred (I've just read posts about it being a little too harsh for sensitive children and want to avoid that). We definitely are a living math family and I thought that Math Lessons for a Living Education would be a great fit but for $39.95 for one consumable book-- it sounds expensive. I wasn't planning on it being the mail source of our math, just a quick and fun supplement.

If you are using or have used the books in this series I would really love to know what you think about them and how your children responded to them. Thanks!!

I used it last year with my 7yr. old. and really liked it. I would have continued but I have so many math books that I decided to use what we have already. The second and third books look so good too.

The price is a bit steep but I have paid more for math in the past :blushing: . You can also order it at Rainbow Resource as well. The shipping might be cheaper.

I'm sorry I'm not help but I wanted to give you a bump ;)

• 3 months later...

I am interested too, as my dd's copy is about to arrive tomorrow or Tue. The only things that have worked for her so far is Arithmetic Village and LOF. Both having stories and the former having the hands on. This is an approach my dd can connect with. She enjoys things like Storm the Castle and other math games, but I have to have something to keep me on track or I wander off and loose my way. Math Lessons for a Living Education has both elements, and is cheaper than LOF. Consumable yes, but considering I won't need a TE that is less money spent. And it last for an entire year. We are blowing through LOF books in 2 weeks!