Menu

More than one CTY class?

Whoareyou

I am getting ready to accommodate DS and increase his CTY course load. He is 12 and until now CTY has been more of 'enrichment' and we have been going along with one class at a time. He started about 3 years ago, when he was in '3rd grade' and has worked his way up to Honors Geometry. He also finished all the middle school sciences and 2 computer science classes. Honestly the computer science classes are a PITA and we wont be doing any more of those (at least for a long time)

My question is, DS is asking for more classes. This is something HE wants. I am fine with him taking one class at a time. He is only doing CTY for STEM classes (didn't qualify for verbal). He will be taking Honors Geometry and Chemistry. *I* am the one starting to panic.

Does anyone here have a HG/PG kiddo who is taking multiple CTY classes (or something like CTY). I know I'm new to the 'hive' but I really need some HG/PG support. My kiddo seems to have taken another 'jump' and I'm having a difficult time adjusting. :banghead:

Hi! I'm clearly new to "the hive" as well, but my 6th grader is taking two CTY classes right now.

He only started with CTY last fall, but took two classes at a time during the school year and one over the summer. This fall, he's taking Arabic and Problem Solving in Algebra.

My son is also the one pushing for CTY classes right now. He's speeding through Problem Solving so that he can squeeze the Cryptography course in before Intro to Forensics starts. It's hard to believe that this is the same kid who only agreed to try CTY in the first place because I convinced him it would increase his chances of getting a job with the CIA. :lol:

My question is, DS is asking for more classes. This is something HE wants. I am fine with him taking one class at a time. He is only doing CTY for STEM classes (didn't qualify for verbal). He will be taking Honors Geometry and Chemistry. *I* am the one starting to panic.