Menu

Creating Spanish Immersion Program

srtabaker

Buenas tardes a todos,

My name is Katie Baker. I am a Spanish teacher interested in creating a Spanish immersion program for homeschoolers and their parents. I became interested in this project after my sister, a homeschool teacher, mentioned to me that there were very few Spanish programs for kids geared toward full fluency in the language.

My colleagues and I are practitioners of Comprehensible Input methods of teaching language - we believe that students can acquire a second language through immersion in COMPREHENSIBLE language input. This means simplifying the vocabulary used to the bare basics at first and gradually adding more vocabulary and complex structure as the learners grow and develop. The formula is input before output - students must hear and see the language before they can produce it themselves.

I am posting here because I am in the process of creating a curriculum, but I want to tailor it to the particular needs of homeschoolers. I don't want to duplicate a program that is already out there, and I want to create something that people could really use.

Ideally, what would you like to see in a Spanish curriculum for your kids? I am open to all sorts of ideas.

Mil gracias,

Srta. Baker

I think this is brilliant. Perfect! The biggest challenge I see is that many times the homeschooling parent is also not fluent and would need to learn along with the child. In all honesty, it seems that many posters here are interested in their child learning a foreign language but appear to have no real interest (and time, energy, etc. ?) for learning the language themselves. I think you might need to market yourself as a family homeschool Spanish curriculum, if that makes sense. I am unclear about any other way immersion would work.