Menu

Best, Fastest Way to Show Proof of Progress? I Blew It:-(

So, not one of the smartest things I've ever done... It has been a crazy couple of years and I couldn't remember if K was supposed to be tested at the end of the year. One of my homeschool groups was setting up testing for all of the kids but it started at 1st grade so I asked another Mom if kindergartners had to be tested and she said no. I know, I should have checked up on it on my own. So I sent in my letters of intent and 2 months later was called by someone while we were go e on vacation about showing proof of progress. Then I get a letter in the mail right after saying I need to get this taken care of within 7 days of the date on the letter sent - of course by that time it was 6. At the time my husband was out of town and I had a sick baby. I'm relatively new to Virginia and homeschooling. Help! Showing a portfolio is out of the question - I wasn't that organized last year. What is the fastest way to get this done? Can he take a test online? How would I go about finding a teacher to evaluate him? I tried calling them today and we played phone tag. Any help is appreciated:-)

I don't know about Virginia, but Seton sells a CAT test for kindergarten. You do have to wait on the results, but I think they can email them to you if you need them faster than snail mail. It has only ever taken about a week to get our results back.

I don't know of any online tests for k'ers. The Stanford and CAT online start at 3rd. ITBS and Stanford for kindergarten require a certified teacher give the test.

I would order the CAT test and give it quickly. I would call and let them know that you were giving the CAT test and were awaiting results in the mail. I would also send a certified letter stating your student was taking the CAT test and as soon as you receive results you would forward them.