Menu

Geography songs cd and book by Kathy troxel

OK Family

This is my first year that my kids are not enrolled in classical conversations. On our own we are continuing memorizing the Veritas Press timeline cards and the geography from cc. The geography is just not sticking. I laminated the maps and each day we trace the weeks locations and say the location names. While we were doing cc I felt like geography was always rushed and never really learned either.

I just purchased Geography Songs book and cd. I know sonlight utilizes these resources but not sure how to go about implementing it. Any ideas from someone that currently uses this or has in the past is greatly appreciated!

I have no idea besides regularly playing the songs but I did want to mention something important to remember when playing the song for Australia and that is that koalas are NOT bears so don't have them learn that part of that song - it is a misnomer that needs to not be perpetuated. I personally avoid that song in its entirety.[/pet peeve]

We had much more success using the free online geography game Seterra.net

I assigned it to my son on his daily schedule and because we do not allow much screen time, he viewed it as a very fun break in his day and learned half it Europe in two weeks!

This is exactly what we are doing for geography memorization. It seemed a better use of time to actually memorize current countries to me rather than random geographical points from the CC foundations book. We sing the songs on the Kathy Troxel CD (which can be pretty "retro") and then play the game. Ds 8 is working through Africa right now. He's a couple of weeks away from knowing the whole country.

Beth

Edited by bethben

I used Sing Around the World Geography when I taught in my little one-room school. We *loved* the songs. :)